June 13, 2021

A full member of ANAS, laureate of the State Prize of the Republic of Azerbaijan, Honored scientist, Doctor of physical-mathematical sciences, Professor Chingiz Oveis oglu Gajar died at the 93rd year of his life.

Chingiz Oveis oglu Gajar was born on June 6, 1929 in Baku. In 1953 he graduated from the Leningrad Polytechnic Institute with degree in applied physics. Ch.Gajar studied under world famous scientists A.F. Ioffe, Yu.I. Frenkel, D.N. Nasledov and others. In 1953 the scientist began working in the laboratory of radiophysics of the ANAS Institute of Physics as the junior researcher, then the senior researcher and the head of the laboratory.
In 1980 he was elected a corresponding member of ANAS, in 2001 - a full member of ANAS.

Ch.Gajar is the author of over 200 scientific papers. For the first time the scientist decrypted the rotation spectra of ethyl, propyl, isopropyl alcohol and ethane thiol molecules, studied their structural conformation and determined the dipole moments. For the first time Ch.Gajar observed quantal double resonances of radio waves and microwaves in the rotation spectra of these molecules.

New physical methods, installations and instruments developed under the guidance of the scientist are widely used both in Azerbaijan and in many countries of the world.
Chingiz Gajar has great achievements in educating highly qualified scientific personnel. He prepared 6 Doctors of science and 24 PhDs. He founded the school of spectroscopy.

The number of authors certificates and patents is over 50.

In 1982 he was awarded the State Prize of the Republic of Azerbaijan, in 1990 he received the honorary title of “Honored Scientist”, in 2004 he was awarded the “Shohrat” order. He was also awarded the Nasreddin Tusi Prize and the Vavilov Prize for scientific instrumentation.

Chingiz Gajar died on June 12, 2021 and was buried in the 2nd Alley of Honor in Baku.

The memory of the great scientist will always live in the hearts of those who know him.

Allah rehmet elesin!

Management and employees of the Institute of Geology and Geophysics of ANAS.